返回 文章

下一篇文章

上一篇文章

15/09/2020

准备让停放的飞机回归服务(RTS)

在过去7到8个月中,数以百计停放的飞机引起了人们关于长期停放和存储飞机的一波担忧。

分享这篇文章

LinkedInTwitter

大多数存储程序的设计目的都是为了适应相对短的时间,而停放较长时间的飞机通常需要进行大修,以消除对腐蚀,泄漏,不可靠的部件或系统的担忧。

随着大量的飞机回归服务,大量关于长期停放飞机的问题浮出水面。由于疫情而停飞的大多数飞机都没有一个良好的维修环境。并且,航空公司通常将不需要大修的飞机重新投入服务,因为他们想保留现金。

 

同时,波音饱受困扰的MAX飞机的停飞时间更长,与MAX停飞相关的问题将与其他停飞时间较短的飞机类型有些许关联。

一个需要考虑的关键问题是,有许多变量以不同的方式影响每架飞机。没有"一刀切"的服务计划。飞机停放或存放方式的有两个极端。

 

极端1:飞机已存放在环境和温度可控的机库中

 

极端2:飞机停在室外的沿海或沙质环境中,受天气和季节因素的影响

 

我们认为,大多数飞机将处于这些极端之间。此外,根据航空公司对停飞期可能的持续时间看法的不同,存储程序也会有所不同。

 

大多数服务商都会以"飞机将被存放多长时间"为开场

如果答案一开始是60天,但随后变成180天,则该项目将无法以最适当的方式启动。但这并不是说飞机会失航。但是,这确实意味着可能需要进一步检查。

 

在因Covid-19大流行而使飞机从长期存放中再次投入使用的背景下,英国民航局(CAA)于7月27日发布了安全通知(SN-2020 / 013)。欧盟航空安全局(EASA)也在7月20日发布了建议,并且CAA提供了涉及精神健康和人为因素的更广泛指导,包括准备返回的飞机,技术人员和飞行员,机组人员,空中交通管制员和地勤人员的相关方面。

 

因此,使飞机回归服务不仅仅是执行技术任务那么简单。至关重要的是,每家航空公司都必须与其飞行和维护运营人员,其监管机构,维护组织,持续适航经理以及飞机的财务或出租人协调技术流程,以确保遵守合同的商业条款。

 

CAA的安全通知中重点介绍了长时间停机后发现的问题示例,包括

  • 发现发动机内窥镜端口松动
  • 调机飞行后,襟翼检修面板丢失,但已用螺钉固定以进行维护检查
  • 机组人员由于没有记录日志条目提醒而拉动断路器以至于无法启动发动机
  • 制动蓄能器压力耗尽
  • 由于速度指示不可靠而导致起飞被失败。
  • 即使在储存过程中做好了密闭处理,仍发现试验系统的昆虫幼虫污染

 

显然,飞机再投入过程包括许多重要步骤,并且需要认真管理,因此避免了延误和进一步的收入损失。 IBA经验丰富的技术团队可以拥有全球覆盖面,从而为客户提供宝贵的支持

IBA拥有超过33年的航空行业经验,在全球开展业务,我们的技术经理有资格检查并且深刻了解在飞机在停放时期所有关于改装,适航性指令和服务公告的变更,特别着重于:

 

  • 存储,保存和取消保存,记录的维护以及为重新投入使用而进行的维护活动的证明
  • 检查是否进行了过度返工的面板更换,修改和组装,以确保充分的电气连接
  • 燃油污染
  • 检查和了解线束上的服务条款和适航指令

 

IBA拥有经验丰富的执照工程师们,对其新一代系统具有详细的专业知识,我们拥有在世界各地的当地资源,可以前往任何存储飞机的机场或存储飞机的地点。

 

如果您是飞机的所有者,出租人,运营人或金融投资者,并且想讨论与使飞机恢复服务或存放和维护有关的问题,请务必与Peter WalterGuljar Lehri联系。

作者

查看完整档案

相关内容

返回 文章

下一篇文章

上一篇文章

IBA Insights


Preparing stored aircraft for return to service (RTS)

The grounding of hundreds of aircraft in the last 7 or 8 months has led to a wave of issues concerning extended periods of parking and storage.

Most storage programmes are designed to cater for relatively short episodes and aircraft parked for extended periods of time would often have been in need of major maintenance to rectify concerns about corrosion, leaks, unreliable parts or systems.

As aircraft return to service in large numbers, much more information has become available about issues related to extended downtime. Most of the aircraft parked due to the pandemic have not undergone major maintenance programs. The opposite has, in fact, been true: airlines have generally brought back into service aircraft that did not need a major check since they want to preserve cash.

Meanwhile, Boeing’s beleaguered MAX has endured far longer grounding periods and the issues associated with that aircraft will have some relevance for other types grounded for less time.

A key issue to consider is that there are many variables affecting each aircraft in different ways; there is not a ‘one size fits all’ return to service program. The variations in how aircraft have been parked or stored differ from one extreme to another.

Extreme 1: The aircraft has been stored in an environmentally and temperature-controlled hangar

Extreme 2: The aircraft has been parked outside in a coastal or sandy environment, open to the weather and seasonal factors

In our view, most aircraft will be somewhere in between these extremes. Furthermore, storage procedures will have varied in accordance with the airline’s view of the likely duration of the grounding period as it commenced.

Most manufacturer programs start with the question, “For how long will the aircraft be stored?”

If the answer was 60 days but this subsequently becomes 180 days, the program will have not started in the most appropriate way. That is not to say the aircraft will be unairworthy and, of course, one cannot turn back the clock. It does however mean further checks and inspections will probably be required.

In the context of returning aircraft to service from extended storage due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the UK’s Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) issued a safety notice 27th July (SN-2020/013). The European Union Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) also published advice on 20th July and the CAA supplied broader guidance dealing with the subjects of mental health and human factors as aircraft, technicians and pilots, cabin crew, air traffic controllers and ground handlers prepared to return to work.

Returning aircraft to service is therefore not simply a case of performing technical tasks; it is vital each airline coordinates the technical process with its flight and maintenance operating crews, its regulatory authority, maintenance organisation, continuous airworthiness manager and the aircraft’s financier or lessor to ensure compliance with its contract’s commercial terms.

Some examples of problems found after extended parking periods are highlighted in the CAA’s safety notice and include:

  • Engine borescope ports found loose
  • Flap access panel found missing but with screws in place after a ferry flight for a maintenance check
  • Crew unable to start engines due to circuit breakers pulled with no log book entry to alert others
  • Depletion of brake accumulator pressure
  • Multiple Airworthiness Directive and Never Exceed Period overruns
  • A rejected take off due to unreliable speed indications. Insect larvae contamination of pilot system found even though covers in place during storage

 

Evidently, the aircraft re-entry process includes numerous essential steps and requires careful management so delays and further loss of revenue are avoided. IBA’s experienced technical team can offer their comprehensive understanding of the global aircraft fleet to provide valuable support.

With over 33 years’ aviation industry knowledge, IBA operates globally and our Technical Managers are qualified to inspect and understand any and all modifications, airworthiness directives and service bulletins implemented on aircraft during the grounding period, with special focus on:

  • Storage, preservation and de-preservation, maintenance of records and evidence of maintenance activities conducted towards re-entry into service
  • Inspections of the replacement of any excessively reworked panels, modifications and assembly to ensure adequate electrical bonding
  • Fuel contamination
  • Inspection and understanding of service bulletins and airworthiness directives on wiring bundles

 

IBA has experienced licensed engineers with a detailed, expert understanding of its new generation systems and we have in country resource to travel to any of the storage airports or locations where aircraft have been stored.

Please do get in touch with Peter Walter or Guljar Lehri if you’re an owner, lessor, operator or financier of aircraft and would like to discuss issues relating to returning aircraft to service or storage and maintenance.


Keep up to date with our latest news, insight and market analysis

I would like to receive marketing comms regarding IBA’s services, insight and events

Register below to sign up for a system demonstration of IBA.iQ

I would like to receive marketing comms regarding IBA’s services, insight and events