文章

视频和音频

新闻与公共关系

活动

往期网络研讨会

返回 文章下一篇文章 上一篇文章

17/08/2020

文章分析:准备迎接波音 737 MAX 的回归

16 个月之前,波音 737 MAX 的停飞对全球航空业产生了巨大影响。运营商,租赁商,机场,当然也包括波音公司自身都受到了停飞后所带来的冲击。许多与飞行机动特性增强系统(MCAS)相关的全新飞行控制软件现已被开发,使得重新进行试航认证变成了可能。我们预测在 2020 年的第四季度,对于 737 MAX 的停飞禁令会有一个决定性的结论。

分享这篇文章

LinkedInTwitterFacebookEmailWeChat

在 FAA 决定终止 737 MAX 适航认证时,市场上共有 387 架 737 MAX 正在运营,除此之外,至今另有 400 架已完成试飞正在等待交付。在这期间,维护飞机使其满足飞行条件,会带来巨大的成本。为了防止飞机停飞而带来维修标准的降级,大部分停飞的 MAX 飞机已被停放或是存储。这一措施是为了减少飞机停飞所带来的维修标准降级的风险,而不不仅仅是为再度安全飞行做好准备。总体而言,对于想要一旦取回适航授权就能重新投入的波音 MAX 来说,拥有缜密的计划必不可少。

 

一旦最终完成适航认证并且取得了各国民航局颁布的适航指令,每架飞机的硬件与软件都需要根据此项指令来进行调试,并符合最新适航指令的要求。所有的系统与配件都需要进行大量检查,测试和清理来确保飞机的安全飞行。同理,在适航认证飞行之后,发动机的孔探检查和磁屑检测器检查也相当重要。由于累积的冷凝水在正常操作中会蒸发,因此腐蚀的可能性将会大大增加。

 

对于每架飞机,此过程预计最多需要两个星期,具体的时间也取决于每个团队中技术人员的可用数量。

 

最近,美国 FAA 的一项适航指令, AD(2020-16-51)表明,在 Return To Service (RTS) 检查中可能还会发现其他问题。该特定的 AD 与第 5 级发动机放气止回阀有关,这是由于内部挡板和衬套因过长的停机时间而被腐蚀,从而被打开。

 

对于 MAX 停飞时间延长而引起的问题,还需要给予更多考虑,但这些产生问题与 MAX 飞机重新认证过程无关。

 

关于新冠疫情对于停飞时间延长方面的影响,英国民航局 CAA 于 7月27日 发布了安全通知(SN-2020/ 013),欧洲航空安全局 EASA 于7月20日发布了针对于新冠疫情有关 RTS 储存方面的指南。

 

此外,随着飞机,技术人员和飞行员,机组人员,空中交通管制员和地勤人员重返工作岗位,英国民航局就心理健康和人为因素问题进行了更大范围的考量。

 

因此,这不仅仅关乎执行技术任务的情况,更重要的是,每个航空公司都必须与其运营人员(飞行/维护),其监管机构,维护组织,持续适航经理和飞机融资人/租赁商,进行协调技术流程,以确保遵守商业条款。

 

对于波音公司来说,400 架尚未交付的 MAX 飞机所涉及的程序将会更多。每一架飞机都需要在交付完成之前进行相应的调整。波音预计,交付 400 架飞机大概需要 18 - 24 个月的时间,运营商和租赁商开始按照飞机交付前,所需的技术验收程序开展工作。但是,鉴于疫情的反复,这一周期可能会更长。需要对飞机存储和保存程序,进行仔细的分析,以了解已执行(和尚未执行)的任务和过程。

 

使用来自领先数据智能平台 IBA.iQ  的数据,为您提供波音 737 MAX 飞机在适航调试之后,各个阶段所需做的准备。

 

 

英国民航局在安全公告中,强调了在飞机长时间停飞后,发现的一系列问题和示例,包括:

 

  • 发现发动机孔探的端口出现松动

  • 调机后,襟翼检修面板丢失,但已用螺钉固定以进行维护检查

  • 由于没有记录日志条目用于提醒断路器,机组人员无法启动发动机

  • 制动蓄能器压力耗尽

  • 由于速度指示读数问题而导致起飞失败。

  • 即使在飞机储存过程中已经做好防护,也发现了皮托管系统的昆虫幼虫污染。

 

显然,飞机的复飞包括许多关键步骤,并且需要仔细管理,因此避免了延误和进一步的收入损失。 IBA 经验丰富的技术团队可以提供对波音机队的全面技术指导,从而保障客户的利益。

 

IBA拥有超过 32 年的航空业经验,在全球开展业务,我们的技术团队有资质去执行飞机检查并且了解 MAX 飞机在停飞期间实施的所有调整,适航指令和服务公告,并特别着重于:

 

  • 飞机的存储,封存和从封存中取出,记录的维护以及为重新投入使用而进行的维护活动的证据

  • 检查是否进行了过度返工的面板更换,修改和组装,以确保充分的电气连接

  • 燃油污染

  • 检查并确保满足适航指令

  • 审查已实施的软件更新,包括适用于更新后的MCAS

  • 适用于 MAX 飞机的主最低设备清单(MMEL)的更改

 

IBA拥有经验丰富的持有维修执照的工程师,对其新一代系统有详尽而专业的了解,并且我们有足够的当地资源去往任何仓储机场,诸如 Victorville and Mojave, California; 以及 Marana, Arizona 或全球其他任何机场。


请联系技术和资产管理总监 Peter Walter,以获取有关 IBA 如何为您的业务提供更多信息支持。

作者

查看完整档案
返回 文章下一篇文章 上一篇文章

登录

如果您已经被授权了InsightIQ,请单击InsightIQ。如果要访问IBA.iQ,请单击IBA.iQ

IBA Insights


Preparing the 737 MAX for its return to service (RTS)

The grounding of Boeing’s troubled 737 MAX programme over 16 months ago had an enormous impact on the global aviation industry. Operators, lessors and airports were all impacted by the consequences as well as Boeing themselves. New flight control software has been developed in relation to the, much talked about, Manoeuvring Characteristics Augmentation Systems (MCAS) and a welcome recertification process is now possible. We can allow ourselves to realistically envisage a much-needed conclusion to the aircraft’s grounding by Q3 or Q4 2020.

At the time of the FAA’s suspension of its airworthiness certificate, 387 MAXs were in service and a further 400 have since been manufactured by Boeing and are awaiting delivery. Maintaining aircraft in an airworthy condition to ensure they satisfy regulatory requirements and can fly safely attracts a hefty price tag. Unsurprisingly, the grounded MAXs have largely been left stored or parked and subject only to maintenance actions intended to prevent them degrading through inaction rather than preparing them for safe flight. Consequently, thorough planning will be necessary before re-entry so the aircraft can be ready to fly again as soon as they’re given the green light.

Once recertification is complete and the final Airworthiness Directive issued, each aircraft will require modifications to both hardware and software to be made compliant with the new Airworthiness Directives and service bulletins. All systems and components will have to undergo an extensive inspection and testing process and given a deep clean to be sure they are completely ready to fly. It will also be essential that the engines undergo borescope and magnetic chip detector checks following the high-power runs. The likelihood of corrosion will be increased due to accumulated condensation remaining in place that would evaporate in normal operations.

This process is expected to take up to two weeks for each aircraft depending upon the number of technicians in each team.

The recent US FAA AD (2020-16-51) is an indication that there may be other issues that could be found as part of the RTS checks. This specific AD relates to 5th stage engine bleed check valves sticking open due to corrosion of the internal flapper plates and bushings due to the extended downtime.

Additional consideration will also need to be given to issues that arise simply due to the extended parking period, unrelated to the MAX recertification process.

In relation to the Covid-19 pandemic and extended parking periods, the UK’s CAA issued a safety notice on 27th July (SN-2020/013) & EASA issued guidance on 20th July on RTS from storage in relation to the
Covid-19 pandemic.

Furthermore, the UK CAA issued broader considerations on the subjects of Mental Health and Human Factors as aircraft, technicians and pilots, cabin crew, ATC and ground handlers return to work.

It is therefore not simply a case of performing technical tasks, it is vital that each airline coordinates the technical process with its operating crews (flight/maintenance), its regulatory authority, maintenance organisation, continuous airworthiness manager and the aircraft financier/lessor to ensure the commercial terms are also complied with.

The procedures facing Boeing in connection with the 400 MAXs built post-grounding and yet to be delivered are more involved. Each of these aircraft is at the point just before delivery completion and will now require modifications too. Clearance of the 400 aircraft backlog was previously expected to take approximately 18-24 months as operators and lessors begin to work through the technical acceptance procedures needed prior to delivery. However in light of the limited demand in the Coronavirus environment this could now be longer. A careful analysis of the storage and preservation program will be required to understand what tasks and processes have (and have not) been performed.

Using data from our leading data intelligence platform, IBA.iQ, we can illustrate the various phases required in a post-modification scenario.

Boeing 737 MAX

Some examples of problems found after extended parking periods are highlighted in the UK CAA safety notice and include:

  • Engine borescope ports found loose
  • Flap access panel found missing but with screws in place after a ferry flight for a maintenance check
  • Crew unable to start engines due to circuit breakers pulled with no log book entry to alert others
  • Depletion of brake accumulator pressure
  • Multiple AD and Never Exceed Period overruns
  • A rejected take off due to unreliable speed indications. Insect larvae contamination of pitot system was found even though covers had been in place during storage.

 

Evidently, the re-entry process includes numerous essential steps and requires careful management so delays and further loss of revenue are avoided. IBA’s experienced technical team can offer their comprehensive understanding of the Boeing fleet to provide valuable support.

With over 33 years’ aviation industry experience, IBA operates globally and our Technical Managers are qualified to inspect and understand all the modifications, Airworthiness Directives and service bulletins implemented on the MAX during its grounding period, with special focus on:

  • Storage, preservation and de-preservation, maintenance of records and evidence of maintenance activities conducted towards re-entry into service
  • Inspections of the replacement of any excessively reworked panels, modifications, and assembly to ensure adequate electrical bonding
  • Fuel contamination
  • Inspection and understanding of service bulletins and Airworthiness Directives on wiring bundles
  • Review of software updates implemented, including those applicable to the new robust MCAS
  • Applicable changes to the MAX’s master minimum equipment list (MMEL)

 

IBA has experienced licensed engineers with a detailed, expert understanding of its new generation systems and we have in country resource to travel to any of the storage airports such as Victorville and Mojave, California; Marana, Arizona or any other airport across the globe.

Contact Peter Walter, Director – Technical and Asset Management, for more information on how IBA can support your business.


Keep up to date with our latest news, insight and market analysis

I would like to receive marketing comms regarding IBA’s services, insight and events

Register below to sign up for a system demonstration of IBA.iQ

I would like to receive marketing comms regarding IBA’s services, insight and events