IBA 洞察观点


回顾2019年的重新交付

众所周知,飞机退租如管理不善,会导致账目上大量金钱的损失。在一些效率低下的退租管理中,每架窄体和宽体客机的退租成本分别可以达到200万美元和450万美元。相较而言,这些不必要的支出足以支付每架飞机六至八个月的租金、或是一次机身的C 类大检,甚至是一次发动机大修。

我们预计,在未来三年内将有大量的飞机租赁合同会到期,尽管这些租约可能会延期,但我们判断至少有 50% 的 租赁合同结束后将实行退租。针对这一问题,我们咨询和资产管理的专家团队会时常和客户进行紧密合作,并帮助他们避免代价高昂的延误。那么,有哪些问题和挑战会导致飞机退租延期呢?最近,IBA 和国际航空运输协会 IATA 合作进行了一次市场倾向调查,涉及 200 多家航空公司、租赁公司和其他业内人士,共同来寻找这一问题的答案。

调查所得到的答案与我们先前的发现如出一辙:超过 80% 的受访者明确表示,他们时常无法满足租赁合同中的飞机返还条款(return condition)。除了这个问题以外,我们还考察了 2019 年航空公司和飞机租赁商面临的其他困难,以便就如何更好地度过退租流程提出了建议。

2016 年我们开始对飞机退租进行调查以来,关键问题一直没有得到解决。究其原因,缺乏计划、参与过晚、低估投入以及计划外的修理或内部孔探检查不合格仍是导致大多数飞机退租延误的罪魁祸首。但好消息是,在今年的调查中,我们发现航空公司更清楚地意识到了这一点;并在这一方面做了很多改善工作。他们渐渐认识到,飞机内部孔探检查不合格会带来高昂的费用,产生退租延误的风险,而这种意识的加深已经带来了可喜的成果。调查答复显示出积极趋势,应答者指出导致飞机退租延误的具体问题有所减少。 

 

为了避免不必要的财务支出,航空公司正在仔细审查租赁合同中的返还条款,并安排维护或是大修,以满足退租条款的相关要求。因此,他们在计划外的维修和飞机内部孔探检查不合格数量都有所下降,成效喜人。越来越多的航空公司都在安排具有预防性质的的中晚期机检,将发动机从机翼拆解下来并维护起来,以便在飞机退租前保持其状态。但是,这种方法仅适用于拥有备用发动机或可使用其他租赁发动机的航空公司,并且在中东, 非洲地区的运营商以及具有较高受异物碎片(FOD)损坏风险记录的航空公司中更为常见。

 

飞机交机前的机检和记录审核非常慎密。它们将告诉我们可能导致无法满足退租时飞机状态的差异,另外, 这些差异还可为维修机构 MRO 招标的工作范围提供信息。时间至关重要,通常我们会建议客户尽早参与退租流程。

自 2016 年我们开始对飞机退租进行调查以来,关键问题一直没有得到解决。究其原因,缺乏计划、参与过晚、低估投入以及计划外的修理或内部孔探检查不合格仍是导致大多数飞机退租延误的罪魁祸首。但好消息是,在今年的调查中,我们发现航空公司更清楚地意识到了这一点;并在这一方面做了很多改善工作。他们渐渐认识到,飞机内部孔探检查不合格会带来高昂的费用,产生退租延误的风险,而这种意识的加深已经带来了可喜的成果。调查答复显示出积极趋势,应答者指出导致飞机退租延误的具体问题有所减少。

为了避免不必要的财务支出,航空公司正在仔细审查租赁合同中的返还条款,并安排维护或是大修,以满足退租条款的相关要求。因此,他们在计划外的维修和飞机内部孔探检查不合格数量都有所下降,成效喜人。越来越多的航空公司都在安排具有预防性质的的中晚期机检,将发动机从机翼拆解下来并维护起来,以便在飞机退租前保持其状态。但是,这种方法仅适用于拥有备用发动机或可使用其他租赁发动机的航空公司,并且在中东, 非洲地区的运营商以及具有较高受异物碎片(FOD)损坏风险记录的航空公司中更为常见。

飞机交机前的机检和记录审核非常慎密。它们将告诉我们可能导致无法满足退租时飞机状态的差异,另外, 这些差异还可为维修机构 MRO 招标的工作范围提供信息。时间至关重要,通常我们会建议客户尽早参与退租流程。

 

保持完整的可追溯性(Back to Birth)和记录认证对退租来说也是至关重要。记录和文档的有效管理对航空公司和租赁商而言仍然是严峻的挑战。记录机队中每架飞机上执行的每项更改都是一个需要耗费大量时间和资源的复杂过程。将历史记录审核与退租机检混在一起进行,将不可避免地要求飞机组件变更,而这将给退租带来巨大的挑战。

我们看到在市场上的一些数字化记录类别的管理解决方案,其功能在近年得到了进一步完善和增强。从简单的扫描到全面的管理解决方案,再到目前的定制在线服务都可帮助航空公司实现有效的记录保存。我们认为,自 2016 年以来,将飞机飞行记录的良好保存列为按时和按预算退租的主要威胁,这一回答之所以会减少,主要原因之一就是对此类在线辅助工具的使用增多。

客舱的内饰和设备会让某些承租商在飞机退租时大感头疼也并不稀奇。许多承租商在退租前会翻新机舱,以便与机队中的新飞机保持一致,并且会经常为长期租赁的飞机设计重大改装计划。此类翻新可能会引起认证方面的争议:在我们了解的一些案例中,运营商持有对机舱翻新所进行的认证,但对于所使用的材料仅获得了本地批准(例如 防燃烧证书)。这样做所导致的后果可能代价会非常高。如果飞机退租时没有所需的认证,则运营商将被迫进行飞行追溯认证、要求更换原始的设备部件,最好的情况也只是与租赁商达成经济补偿协议。值得注意的是,租赁的飞机通常需要超过25-50万美元的改装,并需要在一下个租约开始之前得到租赁商的批准。

 

对飞机引擎进行的孔探检查、时寿件(LLP)的 BTB 可追溯性和发动机性能的考量,这三个因素是在我们退租调查中发现的基本问题。通过飞机内部孔探检查,可进行深入、细致的飞机发动机维修。往往处于寿命中期的发动机很容易发现故障:腐蚀、叶片破裂,常常外露的发动机核心 (Core) 也会发生损坏。

为了满足退租的条件,航空公司越来越多地采购二手发动机时寿件(LLP),来进行发动机维修。因此,这一做法可能无法保持飞机记录文件的完整性(BTB),并且它们为此可能还会缺少上一家运营商的无事件/事故声明(NIAS)。

IBA 所参与的 IATA 飞机租赁和咨询小组(ALAG)为航空公司和租赁商提供了相关的 BTB 程序的指导。可以合理地推测,航空公司和租赁商没有充分研究这些指示并听从建议,因为相较于去年的 BTB 问题,今年的数量并未减少。

虽然原始设备制造商(OEM)可以对发动机性能进行在线监控,但租赁商和承租商通常对在翼时间和引擎进场大修后的建造标准(Build Standard)有着自己的判断,而这可能会引起争议。为了避免这种延误和分歧,我们提倡航空公司与租赁商就计划中的所有发动机维修工作和维护活动进行充分和尽早的沟通,以减少退租的延误。

作为租赁商,您认为运营商一般会在什么时间开始参与退租流程?

与往年一样,该结果表明,租赁商仍然认为航空公司参与退租流程的时间过晚,超过 70% 的受访者认为参与时间晚了 3 至 6 个月。

对于运营商,其内部团队是否了解飞机的退租日期和返还条款?

不同类型的航空公司对于飞机从购置到退租的整套流程所作出的回应也有所不同。总而言之,规模较大的传统航司会很好地预测退租时的情况,但其相对规模较大的机队会导致技术、工程和记录部门工作量变大, 这使得公司内部职责分配变得困难。此类航司也承认,他们的内部团队经常不熟悉租赁合同的时限、条款以及相关要求。而外包给第三方维修公司(MRO)的低成本运营商则依赖 MRO 并依靠有限的内部资源来管理其退租过程。MRO 提供有效支持的能力取决于及时地参与退租流程以及强大的管理团队(确保持续有效地关注)。

调查结果反映了当前的市场趋势,即窄体机的当前的租约延期呈上升趋势,而宽体机的租约延期将变得更少。而波音 737MAX 的禁飞、更多的飞机投入运营和油价持续低位的影响都将导致一些运营商继续延长租赁合同。对于窄体机而言,如果随后出现需求转移和获取 MRO 机位困难的增加,将会延长租期的趋势并会导致飞机退租数量出现时空上的弓形波动。

另一方面,宽体机租约延期的数量减少将对租赁商也有影响,特别是对于那些归航能力有限的飞机类型。例如,航空公司正在逐步淘汰空客A380,而随着运营商逐步升级其机队,空客A330 将会慢慢地被 A350 取代。要配置此类宽体机以满足下一个运营商的要求,意味着巨大的时间和资金成本。但这类情况是一直存在的,而 OEM 至今仍未能给二级市场开发出更优惠的解决方案,也令运营商以及业内的人士感到头疼。

根据调查问卷受访者的回答,运营商资源不足是过去 12 个月最主要的挑战,其次是 MRO 的支持不足以及飞机退租数量的增加所带来的一系列困难。这些是当前以及在2020 年的市场面临的主要挑战。

我们的观点是,飞机退租数量增加,是因为受飞机更新换代常规生产的影响(特别是宽体机),因为用新飞机替换旧飞机这一方案在航司看来将会越来越普遍。特别是低成本的长途运营商,正在寻找高效节油的飞机,以降低每座位成本,来运营更稳健、更年轻的机队。随着运营商开始安排那些近期需要开展退租工作的飞机,包括预订维修机位,维修时间以处理退租工作,退租检查的增加会对 MRO 修理的日程安排造成压力。

如何避免超支 

对于这一问题,今年的调查显示出积极的态势,表明大家对飞机退租所附带的困难有了更深入的理解。  虽对所涉及工作的了解有所提高,但在某些情况下,退租的执行似乎仍然会有一些麻烦。我们认为,由于竞争激烈的运营需求,一些航空公司可能没有足够的资源或资产来按时启动退租流程。

发动机的维护是一个高风险,高投入的项目,如果维护时间安排不当,可能会造成高昂的成本并延误退租。完整的可追溯性、 飞行记录的保存和飞机内饰的翻修仍是最具挑战的领域。窄体机的租约延期将继续增加,宽体机的延期则将减少,这可能会使退租的宽体机在寻找下个承租商时经历困难。

为了应对此类冲突,我们建议客户可以采取以下措施:

  • 提前大致 15 个月对窄体机退租制定计划,对宽体机则需要提前更多时间,而对于有着复杂退租条款的宽体机来说,还应将流程继续提前
  • 确保有足够的技术支持和记录管理资源,可以通过雇用或外包来弥补这一差距。首次租用的窄体机至少需要 120 个工日(man day)的资源,宽体机可能需要前者的两倍多
  • 任命能力出色的项目经理并与租赁商进行接洽,建立并保持融洽的关系,并同意在租约结束(EOL)和 退租检查时都能确保租赁商在场
  • 理解退租条款。仔细检查租约中的每一项条款,以确定:
    • 运营商需要根据租约及时安排哪些工作才能退租
    • 是否可以“买断”某些条款。例如,运营商不安排对发动机进厂大修以进行全面的翻新,而是他们会以现金补偿的方式来作为接受发动机的条件
    • 如何执行租赁商对运营商的义务,例如,解决适航指令费用的分摊付款和/或维修储备金付款的问题
  • 同意退租条件中任何不明确的条款(如果尚未解决),并确保相关人员对整个退租条款了然于心,并加强对特定的退租条件的熟悉程度
  • 提早预订 MRO 维修日程
  • 租赁商应在飞机退租之前,协助解决运营商参与不足或飞机退租经验不足的问题
  • 在运营期间更加重视资产的管理。部署从交机到退役的维修时间表来管理飞机,确保年度检查和退租计划的顺利实施
  • 对于运营方面的需要求,我们建议制定退租资源消耗的计划
  • 集中管理飞行及相关记录,保持记录的完整性,正确性,可追溯性

 

需要了解IBA资产管理和技术服务的更多信息,以及我们如何进一步帮助您开展业务, 请发送电子邮件至:guljar.lehri@iba.aero


Keep up to date with our latest news, insight and market analysis

I would like to receive marketing comms regarding IBA’s services, insight and events

IBA.iQ

I would like to receive marketing comms regarding IBA’s services, insight and events

IBA Insights


Guljar Lehri
Guljar Lehri
Head of Aircraft Transactions and Technical Marketing
Guljar.Lehri@iba.aero

Revisiting Redeliveries in 2019

Poorly managed redeliveries are a staggering waste of money. Every narrowbody and widebody whose redelivery is inefficiently handled can cost $USD 2 million and $USD 4.5 million respectively. Putting that into context, the unnecessary expenditure would be enough to fund six to eight months’ lease rental for each aircraft, a Heavy C Check, or even an engine shop visit.

We expect to see large numbers of lease ends over the next three years and, whilst extensions are likely, we anticipate at least 50% of those lease ends will result in redelivery to the lessors. Consequently, our expert advisory and asset management teams are working closely with clients to help them avoid costly delays. So, what challenges can postpone aircraft redeliveries? We recently commissioned a pulse survey and canvassed over 200 airlines, leasing companies and other key stakeholders to find out.

The clear picture we uncovered echoed our previous findings; over 80% of respondents confirmed they sometimes or very often cannot fulfil a lease’s return conditions. We look at this alongside other difficulties facing airlines and lessors in 2019 and suggest how best to navigate the redelivery process.

What are the primary reasons for a late redelivery

The key issues have been constant since our 2016 survey. Lack of planning, late engagement, underestimating effort and unforeseen repairs or failed borescopes continue to cause most delays. The good news this year, however, is airlines are more aware; they’re working smarter. They’ve recognised that failed borescope inspections pose a high cost and delay risk for redeliveries and this increased understanding has had encouraging consequences. A positive trend has emerged from survey responses in that fewer distinct issues resulting in late redeliveries have been specified.

Keen to avoid unnecessary financial outlay, airlines are closely scrutinising lease return conditions and scheduling maintenance and shop visits so as to fulfil them. A drop in unexpected repairs and failed borescope inspections has been the welcome result. More and more airlines are arranging pre-emptive mid- and high life checks so engines can be removed off-wing and stored to preserve their condition pending redelivery. Such an approach, however, works only for those with reserve engines or access to additional leased in engines and is more typical of airlines operating in harsh environments and those with a higher risk of foreign object debris (FOD) damage.

Pre-delivery physical inspections and record audits are prudent. They will reveal discrepancies which could prevent lease return conditions being met and, in turn, these inconsistencies will inform the scopes of works for Maintenance and Repair Organisation (MRO) bidding. Timing is crucial and we recommend early engagement in the redelivery process.

Which area of the aircraft is most challenging to redeliver on time and on budget

Back to birth (BTB) traceability and records certification: efficient management of records and documents still presents significant challenges for both airlines and lessors. Documenting every change performed on every aircraft within a fleet is a complex time- and resource-consuming process. Mix historical records audits together with end of lease checks that will inevitably demand component changes and you have the ingredients of a perfect redelivery storm.

We’ve witnessed welcome enhancements to the robustness of digitised record management solutions available on the market. Bespoke online services from simple scanning to fully comprehensive management solutions can help airlines achieve effective record keeping. We believe greater use of such online facilities may have driven the reduction since 2016 in responses citing record keeping as a major threat to on time and on budget redeliveries.

It’s no surprise cabin interiors and furnishings cause headaches for some lessees when returning aircraft. Many will refresh their cabins to align with new aircraft within their fleet and frequently devise substantial modification programmes for long-term leased aircraft. Such renovations can cause certification disputes: we’ve seen cases where an operator is certified to effect a modernisation but has only local approval for the materials used, burn certificates for example. This can prove extremely costly. Without the requisite certification at redelivery, operators will be forced to certify retrospectively, replace the original equipment or at best reach a financial compensation agreement with the lessor. It is worth noting leases typically require modifications costing over $USD 250-500K to be approved by the lessor prior to their commencement.

Specifically looking at engines which element is the most challenging to redeliver.

Borescope inspections, BTB traceability on Life Limited Parts (LLPs) and engine performance. Our findings again confirm these three factors are fundamental complications in the redelivery process. Borescopes enable in depth, meticulous aircraft engine inspection. Small wonder then that mid-life engines have a high probability of failure: erosion, cracked blades and damage to the engine’s core are often exposed.

To meet redelivery conditions, airlines are increasingly sourcing second-hand LLPs for engine rebuilds. Consequently, full traceability in BTB documentation may not always be in place and they may also lack previous operators’ non incident/accident statements (NIAS).

IATA’s Aircraft Leasing and Advisory Group (ALAG) in which IBA takes part has provided useful guidance to airlines and lessors about agreed BTB procedures. It can reasonably be surmised that the parties are not adequately examining these directions and following their advice, however, since BTB issues did not reduce last year.

Whilst Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEMs) can conduct online monitoring of engine performance, lessors and lessees often have different opinions about time on wing and build standards which may lead to disputes.

How can such delays and disagreements be avoided? We advocate that airlines communicate with lessors about all proposed and planned engine work and maintenance activity in full and sooner to reduce postponements.

As a lessor, typically how late do you feel the lessee engages in the redelivery process?

As in previous years, the results continue to suggest lessors believe airlines engage too late in the redelivery process, with over 70% of respondents feeling engagement was between 3-6 months overdue.

Lessees, are internal teams aware of lease return dates and return conditions

Responses concerning the journey of aircraft from acquisition to return differed according to the type of airline. Broadly speaking, larger legacy carriers anticipate lease ends well but their scale results in larger technical, engineering and records departments which make allocation of responsibilities difficult. Such airlines acknowledge their internal teams are frequently unaware of contract time frames and terms and conditions. Conversely, low cost operators who outsource to Maintenance and Repair Organisations (MROs) rely on them and on limited internal resources to manage their redeliveries. MRO’s ability to provide effective support depends on early engagement in the redelivery process and strong management ensuring sustained focus.

What changes to end of lease trends in narrowbodies and widebodies have you noticed in the last 12 months

The results reflect current market trends with more lease extensions for narrowbodies and fewer for widebody aircraft. The impact of the 737MAX groundings, ongoing Entry into Service (EIS) issues and lowish oil prices have all resulted in some operators continuing to extend leases. For narrowbodies, the continued trend to extend lease ends could cause a bow wave of returns if demand shifts and MRO slot difficulties would then follow.

Conversely the reduction in widebody lease extensions will concern lessors, particularly where aircraft types whose potential for rehoming is limited are involved. For example, the A380 which airlines are increasingly phasing out and the A330 which is being replaced by the A350 as operators upgrade their fleets. Configuration of such widebodies to fulfil the next lessee’s requirements poses a significant time and investment challenge. The situation is longstanding and we continue to be perplexed by OEM’s failure to develop cheaper creative solutions for the secondary market.

What redelivery challenges are you facing in 2019.2020

Insufficient lessee resource was the most prominent feature of the last 12 months followed by an increase in respondents who felt MRO support was inadequate and a large shift in aircraft returns. These are the major challenges facing the market now and into 2020.

Our view is the increase in returns is affected by widebody aircraft as well as by regular churn, as rollover programmes replacing old aircraft with new become increasingly commonplace. Airlines, particularly low-cost long-haul operators, are looking for fuel-efficient aircraft that afford reduced cost-per-seat yields to give a healthier and younger fleet. This could put pressure on MRO slots as operators book out time to deal with returns.

How to avoid the overspends

Positive trends emerge from this year’s survey suggesting there is greater awareness about the difficulties inherent in redelivery. Whilst an understanding of the effort involved has improved, the execution of redelivery still appears to pose complications in some cases. We believe some airlines may have inadequate resources or assets available to activate the redelivery process on time because of competing operational demands.

Engines are high risk items that can be costly and delay redelivery if the maintenance timeline is mismanaged. B2B traceability, records and interiors are also areas that continue to challenge.

We continue to see more narrowbody extensions and fewer widebody extensions, which could be a worry for returning widebodies looking for new homes.

To counter such conflicts, we advise our clients to do the following as a minimum:

  • Plan 15 months ahead for narrowbody returns, more for widebodies and more again for widebodies with onerous lease return conditions
  • Ensure adequate resources for technical support and records management are available, hiring or outsourcing to plug any gaps. A first lease narrowbody absorbs at least 120 man days’ resource, with widebodies potentially more than double that
  • Appoint a strong project manager and engage with the other party to the lease both to establish a rapport and to agree lessor presence at the end of lease (EOL) and redelivery check
  • Understand the redelivery conditions. Examine every clause in the lease to identify:
    • What work needs to be planned in good time by the lessee to redeliver in accordance with the lease or…
    • Whether certain items can be ‘bought out’. For example, rather than the lessee arranging an engine shop visit for a full refurbishment, the lessor accepts the engine as is subject to cash compensation
    • How to execute the lessor’s obligations to the lessee, such as resolving AD cost share payments and/or maintenance reserve payments
  • Agree any ambiguous terms in the return conditions, if not already resolved, and ensure the entire redelivery resource is acquainted with the specific return conditions
  • Book out MRO slots early
  • Lessors should mitigate against lack of lessee engagement or experience in aircraft returns when the aircraft is due back
  • Focus more keenly on assets during operations. Deploy a cradle-to-grave maintenance timeline to manage aircraft, making sure the penultimate annual inspection in the lease includes plans for redelivery
  • Plan for operational demands consuming redelivery resource
  • Manage records centrally, keeping them complete and correct

 

For more information on IBA’s Asset Management and Technical services, or how we can help your business further, please email: guljar.lehri@iba.aero


Keep up to date with our latest news, insight and market analysis

I would like to receive marketing comms regarding IBA’s services, insight and events

IBA.iQ

I would like to receive marketing comms regarding IBA’s services, insight and events