IBA 洞察观点


IBA对韩国航空市场进行的评估 – 2019年8月

在这份综合报告中,IBA的分析师将深入探讨韩国的商业航空业,分享我们关于市场增长、机队活力、韩亚航空遭遇的困境,以及韩国航空投资的观点。

韩国机队及其现状

相比较亚太地区航空市场中快速增长的经济体,例如中国和印度,韩国已上升至航空业中经济活力较高的梯队中。近年来,韩国机队的飞机数量大幅增长,主要是因为市场上低成本航空公司不断增多

韩国市场增长

目前韩国航空公司运营着371架现役民航飞机。 要特别说明的是,韩国运营商还有146架飞机未交付。订单中数量最多的是波音737 MAX 8、空客A321-200neo和空客A350机型。目前韩国机队中窄体机占多数,共计212架。宽体机数量占整个机队的43%,共计159架。宽体机机型方面,波音777家族的数量最为庞大,共计57架,占现役机队的15%,占现役宽体机机队的36%。空客A380家族在宽体机市场中所占的份额高达10%。这两个宽体机家族飞机的平均机龄都在10年以上。

韩国 宽体机队 宽体机队 宽体

韩国市场的运营商对支线飞机和涡轮螺旋桨飞机兴趣寥寥,目前只有韩国快运航空(Korea Express Air)运营着3架Embraer ERJ-145,而韩国空域内更是看不见涡轮螺旋桨飞机的身影。

韩国机队中机龄最大的飞机是波音767家族的成员,平均机龄约为23年。机龄最小的飞机来自空客A220家族、空客A350家族和波音787家族,其中大多数飞机的机龄都未满2年。从下表中可以看出,波音737家族是韩国上座率最高的窄体机家族,它的平均机龄仅为不到12年。

韩国机队目前的平均龄

新兴航空公司

新竞争者进入航空市场,促进了韩国市场增长,其中包括Air Premia公司、Hi Air公司、Aero K公司和Fly Gangwon公司。过去十年,在低成本航空公司的商业模型作用下,旅客数量急剧攀升。低成本航空公司在韩国现有商业模式中占据很大比重,与大韩航空、韩亚航空等全服务航空公司形成竞争。

韩国机队市场份额饼图

由于低成本航空公司在韩国运营获得成功,加之韩国也有这样的需求,大韩航空成立了低成本航空公司真航空作为旗下子公司。真航空是目前韩国唯一一家运营宽体机的低成本航空公司,拥有波音777-200ER飞机。2007年,韩亚航空效仿大韩航空组建了釜山航空,目前运营着16架空客A321-200和7架空客A320-200。新兴航空公司方面,Air Premia公司预计将于2020年投入商业运营,该公司选择了波音787-9。不过,Air Premia正在寻求通过实行混合航空商业模式,填补市场空缺。

韩国各家航空公司机队

Aero K公司预计将于2022年开始运营,采用低成本航空公司商业模式,运营空客Airbus A320。Fly Gangwon公司也计划于2022年投入运营,机型方面,该公司选择了波音737-800NG。就支线飞机而言,新兴全服务航空公司Hi Air将于2019年下半年开始运营涡轮螺旋桨飞机,计划运营由10架ATR涡轮螺旋桨飞机组成的机队。

韩亚航空的困境

虽然近年来韩国市场迎来强劲增长,但韩亚航空公司却遭遇多重财务问题。鉴于这样的问题,锦湖韩亚集团(控股股东)抛售了其在韩亚航空及旗下两家低成本航空子公司釜山航空、首尔航空31%的股份。IBA也因此在最新风险指数中将韩亚航空评分下调至5B。韩国产业银行今年四月下旬为韩亚航空提出了一个组合方案,包括混合债券、短期债务、债务担保,力图缓解流动性的忧虑,但这并不能从根源上解决这家深陷困境的航空公司所遭遇的融资难题。
据报道,锦湖韩亚集团计划出售韩亚航空及其低成本航空子公司,出售额约为一万多亿韩元。鉴于外资所有权设有上限,收购者(或财团)将是内资企业,据传Aekyung Holdings公司(济州航空的控股股东)有意向收购锦湖韩亚集团的韩亚航空股份。大韩航空母公司第二大股东Korea Corporate Governance Improvement (KCGI)公司表示有意向收购韩亚航空的控股股权。

观察韩亚航空自成立以来的机队,该公司的长途和短途运输网络业务大幅增长,宽体机载客容量需求增加。如下表所示。

韩亚航空机队增长 *

虽然图表中飞机数量呈现积极的增长趋势,但由于存在财务问题,韩亚航空改变了策略,削减了大量航线,同时缩小了机队规模。此外,另一关键点是,韩亚航空目前运营着6架空客A380-800,但先前运营过该机型的其他航空公司表示无利可图。而空客A380-800目前在韩亚航空的航空主干道运营,包括首尔到纽约、首尔到香港、首尔到悉尼的航线。

根据IBA.iQ的数据,韩亚航空的窄体机队由17架空客A321-200、1架新近交付的空客A321NEO,以及7架空客A320-200和2架空客A321-100组成。宽体机队由15架空客A330-300、9架空客A350-900、9架波音777-200ER、7架波音767-300、6架空客A380-800和2架波音747-400组成。

韩亚航空机队前景

韩国航空业投资者

韩国航空公司

韩国企业集团活跃于国内航空业中已并非新鲜事。韩国最大的、也是国家航空公司的大韩航空现已完全私有化,于上世纪70年代被韩进集团收购。韩进集团最初专注于海运业务,目前是一家由20家子公司组成的控股公司。2008年,韩进集团成立了低成本航空公司真航空,如今真航空已成为韩国第二大低成本航空公司,同时也是韩国唯一一家运营宽体机的低成本航空公司。另外,韩进集团还投资成立了自己的旅行社,用于服务日益增多的游客,尤其是外国游客。

除了韩进集团,锦湖韩亚集团也投资了韩国3家不同的航空公司,全资自有国家航空公司韩亚航空、低成本航空公司釜山航空、新近成立的首尔航空。其中首尔航空仅运营国际航班。

继韩进航空和锦湖韩亚航空之后,爱敬集团(Aekyung Group)于2005年成立了济州航空。济州航空已成为韩国在国内和国际市场上最大的低成本航空公司。最近,爱敬集团的控股公司对收购韩亚航空表露出兴趣。韩亚航空目前正在重组。韩国的独立航空公司在国际市场上仅占8%的份额,在国内市场上占19%的份额。

 

国际市场份额 -韩国企业集团所有的航空公 司

韩国原始设备制造商

1999年,依照韩国政府的指示,三星航空航天公司(Samsung Aerospace)、大宇重工航空(Daewoo Heavy Industries)航天部和现代宇宙航空公司(Hyundai Space and Aircraft Company)联合成立合资企业韩国航空航天产业(KAI),发展国内航空航天业和国防业。迄今为止,KAI生产了大量固定翼飞行器,联合创立了部分直升机研究项目,还为其他民用及军用航空原始设备商制造零件。另外,该联合财团引进国内、国际金融机构投资,这部分投资目前已占KAI所有权的三分之一。

韩国航空融资/出租人

在航空市场的融资方面,近十年来,韩国投资者也扮演了关键角色,并持续发挥自身实力,将影响力拓展至航空融资市场更广阔的领域。

机构投资者开始投资由飞机资产支持的夹层债。部分投资者则转向股权投资,股权投资目前定期提供以美元计价的优先债,这表明一些更为近期交易完全由国内的筹备者、投资者和放贷人完成。

Crianza Aviation公司是第一家诞生于韩国的飞机租赁公司,由总部位于韩国的风险投资公司IMM Investment and Cerritos Holdings公司于2016年成立。Crianza公司自成立以来快速增长,2018年11月至2019年2月期间,向阿提哈德航空交付了3架新型波音787-9中型宽体机。

总部在都柏林的Stellwagen Group集团在首尔成立了亚洲分公司。2018年12月,Stellwagen Korea公司完成了其在韩国 的第一笔交易,与Meritz Securities Co. Ltd公司联合收购了一架租赁给卡塔尔航空的波音777-300ER。Stellwagen Group集团的资产管理部门担任这架飞机的服务商。

在与Stellwagen公司合作之前,Meritz Securities公司于2016年下半年与瑞穗证券成立了联合航空基金,首次从通用电气资本航空服务公司(GE Capital Aviation Services)购买20架飞机。随后,离岸特殊目的实体Labrador Aviation Finance公司成立,由这20架飞机为其提供服务。两年后,Meritz公司和瑞穗证券联合制定了他们第二套飞机投资组合方案,从迪拜航空航天集团的租赁部门(DAE Capital)购买了18架旧机。

同样,众多韩国经纪公司、投资公司活跃于航空融资活动中。KTB Investment & Securities Co. Ltd公司拥有30年专业投资和资产管理的良好记录,通过将机构投资人引入其资金结构带他们开启飞机交易的大门。Samsung Securities Co. Ltd公司和Mirae Asset Daewoo公司一直在寻求将一流航空公司纳入他们的航空基金投资组合。更有韩国外换银行(KEB Hana Bank)签署谅解备忘录,买下Arena Aviation Capital公司的多数股权。韩国外换银行和Arena公司共同融资收购了租赁给加拿大航空的波音777-300ER。

根据基金评级公司KG Zeroin的数据,2017年,韩国私募飞机基金共计融资1.3万亿韩元(11亿美元),高出2012年的2930亿韩元四倍多。同时,众多政府机构投资者也在航空融资市场中扮演着关键角色。据韩国投资者称,2017年,韩国国民年金公团(NPS)首次对盲池飞机基金进行投资,向BBAM公司旗下一支规模为10亿美元的基金投入1亿美元。另有韩国主权财富基金韩国投资公司(KIC)重金投资由Castlelake公司发起的航空基金。近年来,其他韩国储蓄基金,例如公务员福利协会(Public Official Benefit Association)、韩国教师信用联盟(Korean Teachers Credit Union)和军事互助协会(Military Mutual Aid Association),也因航空基金投资收益稳定且投资多样化而参与其中。

参与私募航空基金的国内外投资者日益增多,美国及欧洲的航空基金都在从韩国募集投资。但是,虽然市场的投资者日渐增多,收益却不断下降,一些早期的韩国投资者对此持谨慎态度。

航空业对韩国的重要性

航空运输在韩国经济中扮演着至关重要的角色。国际航空运输协会的最新数据显示,2019年第一季

度,韩国乘坐飞机出行的旅客超过三千万。这是季度旅客数量首次达到这一数字,韩国低成本航空公司在国内外市场地位提升对此功不可没。2015年至2018年,韩国低成本航空公司的年均旅客数量增加了43%,其中,济州航空、真航空和易斯达航空的表现尤为突出。

很显然,低成本航空公司刺激旅客数量增长,带动韩国经济增长。济州国际机场和金浦国际机场之间的航班被公认为世界上最繁忙的国内航线,日起降航班达200班次,每年起降航班近80,000班次。需求如此高的航线让济州航空,这家韩国历史最悠久的低成本航空公司跻身为市场最大的低成本航空公司。济州航空的机队拥有44架飞机,2018年运输旅客1200万人次,占据15%的国内市场份额。根据国际航空运输协会发布的数据,即使自2016年以来,国内旅客增长相对疲软,但其国际服务自2009年推出以来,年增长率达两位数,2019年第一季度增长率为27%,国际市场份额达到9%。因此,IBA在2019年7月最新发布的运营者评分指数中将济州航空评为4C等级。

继济州航空之后,又有5家低成本航空公司成立,这些低成本航空公司共计承担60%的韩国国内旅客运输任务。此外,韩国所有低成本航空公司都在他们的交通网络内运营国际航线,不过大韩航空和韩亚航空这两家全服务航空公司占据大量市场份额,共计达40%。考虑到国内市场竞争者林立,新兴航空公司也可能将潜在收入重头放在国际航班上。2018年,半数国际旅客都来自中国和日本,中国最近批准了韩国航空公司新近开辟的49个每周航班。多数航空公司都将从此举中获益,但真航空除外。真航空目前仍处于Korea Aviation Authority(韩国民航局)的制裁之中。

 

国际市场份额 -韩国企业集团所有的航空公 司

就业与支出

近十年来入境韩国的旅客数量增加了两倍多,但同期出境航班(当地人从韩国出境)的市场规模是入境航班市场的近两倍。充满活力的市场创造了大量新岗位,特别是在航空公司、机场运营商、机场内部企业、飞机制造商和航空旅行服务领域。当地酒店、餐厅、购物中心和旅游度假村也提供了一批就业岗位。另外,大量外国旅客涌入也带动了贸易和外国直接投资,这将很可能提升物流能力、促进生活基础设施发展,并刺激金融活动活跃度。总得来说,根据牛津经济研究院(Oxford Economics)的研究,航空运输部门直接或间接提供了超过830,000个岗位。

航空运输带来了外国旅客和商务人士,他们在韩国消费;受雇于航空运输部门及其相关供应链的员工获得的薪水及其创造的价值,都将对韩国GDP做出贡献。据估计,这些消费对韩国GDP的贡献为3.4%,共计达476亿美元。

由于国内航线数年来一直处于饱和状态,在当地政府的支持下,一些二级机场正在建设中。这些计划中的机场将为韩国低成本航空公司提供支持,并持续吸引新兴航空公司。随后,建设基础设施将带来更多工作岗位,提振当地经济,还将在竞争日趋激烈的航空市场中提升韩国航空业的竞争力。

结论

日益增长的韩国空中交通需求,特别是国际航班,促进了当地低成本航空公司的增长。但是,利润下降、竞争加剧搅动当地市场,预计不久的将来会有更多航空公司面临合并。当前市场充满活力,虽然已经挤满竞争者,却还不断吸引新兴航空公司进入。

留心航空公司的财政健康状况、了解他们的运营特点是航空业投资成功的必要因素。IBA创造了运营者评分指数这一卓越、易于使用的工具,以支持投资者对航空公司的内部评估;聚集拥有超过30年行业经验的航空专家,以他们的第三方视角,提供丰富宝贵的业内信息。

中国在北亚拥有最多的低成本航空公司,但韩国是该市场中低成本航空公司渗透率最高的国家。在可预见的将来,由于中国出境游客增多,将有更多中国到韩国的航线被纳入建设计划,可能还会在朝鲜开辟一些航线,以缓解韩国国内市场的拥挤状况。目前中美贸易战影响到了货运需求,韩国与日本之间的外交摩擦将为往返两国之间的旅游收入蒙上阴影。

越来越多韩国投资者从传统房地产投资转向利润更高、更稳定的飞机等移动资产。因此,韩国市场上出现了更具多样性的飞机基金和融资交易。韩国投资者也从纯粹的飞机租赁交易现金提供者转变为租赁交易的筹备者和服务商。同时,当地公司和外国租赁实体之间也建立起更多的联合开发项目。

展望未来,IBA预计韩国实体在国际航空金融市场占据的比例将越来越高。IBA并不排除不久后出现独立韩国租赁平台的可能性。虽然政府投资建设国内机场基础设施,但韩国低成本航空公司必须探索更多国际扩张机会,以确保持续增长。在目前这样竞争激烈的市场中,无论是站在航空公司运营者角度还是投资角度,了解威胁增长的风险都十分关键。

合作作者:Jie Zhou、Lewis Leslie、Caroline Finnegan,IBA航空分析师

如果您有其他问题、意见或反馈,请联系: Mike.Yeomans@iba.aero


Keep up to date with our latest news, insight and market analysis

I would like to receive marketing comms regarding IBA’s services, insight and events

IBA.iQ

I would like to receive marketing comms regarding IBA’s services, insight and events

IBA Insights


Jie Zhou, Lewis Leslie & Caroline Finnegan - Aviation Analysts, IBA.

IBA’s Review of the Korean Aviation Market August 2019

In this comprehensive report our analysts take a deep dive into the commercial aviation industry in South Korea, sharing our insight on market growth, fleet dynamics, Asiana Airline troubles and Korean investment in aviation.

Korean Fleets and Status

Amongst the rapidly growing economies of the Asia-Pacific region’s aviation markets, namely China and India, South Korea has managed to ascend to the upper echelons of economic dynamism within the aviation sector. The number of aircraft in the South Korean fleet has grown significantly over the past years, which is mainly driven by the increasing number of low cost carriers (LCC) in the market.

South Korean Growth Market

Currently there are 371 passenger aircraft in service operated by South Korean airlines. Notably, there are 146 on order from Korean operators. The top aircraft on order are the Boeing 737 MAX 8, followed by Airbus A321-200neo and A350 variants. The majority of the current Korean fleet are narrowbody aircraft, with 212 aircraft in total. Widebodies account for around 43% of the entire fleet, which is counted as 159 aircraft. In terms of the widebody aircraft types, the Boeing 777 family are prominent, with 57 aircraft, occupying 15% of the total in service fleet and 36% of the active widebody fleet. The Airbus A380 family makes up 10% of the widebody market share. Those two widebody families have an average age of just above 10 years old.

South Korea Widebody & Narrowbody Aircraft Fleet

Regional aircraft and turboprops are less popular aircraft classes in South Korea, with only three Embraer ERJ-145 aircraft currently operated by Korea Express Air and no turboprops presently flying over the Korean sky.

The oldest aircraft in the Korean fleet are members of the Boeing 767 family, whose average age is approximately 23 years old. The youngest aircraft types include the Airbus A220 Family, A350 Family and Boeing 787 Family, as the majority of aircraft are less than two years old. The graph below indicates that the Boeing 737 family is the most populous narrowbody family of aircraft in South Korea, with an average age just below 12 years old.

Current Average Age of Korean Fleet

New Airline Entrants

New entrants into the airline market are helping to fuel Korean market growth, featuring the likes of Air Premia, Hi Air, Aero K and Fly Gangwon. The LCC business model has stimulated a dramatic increase in passenger numbers over the past decade. Korean LCCs account for a significant proportion of the business models currently utilised in the region, competing against Full-Service Carriers (FSC) such as Korean Air and Asiana Airlines.

Korean Fleet Market Share Breakdown

As a consequence of the success of LCC operation and demand in South Korea, Korean Air responded by founding Jin Air a LCC subsidiary. Jin Air is currently the only low-cost carrier in South Korea that operates widebody aircraft, with the Boeing 777-200ER. Similarly Asiana Airlines have also followed suit with Air Busan in 2007, the airline currently operates 16 Airbus A321-200s and seven Airbus A320-200s. In terms of the start-ups, Air Premia is due to commence operations in 2020, with the operation of the Boeing 787-9. Although, the carrier is seeking to exploit a “gap” in the market, through the implementation of the hybrid carrier business model.

Fleet of Each Airline in South Korea

Aero K is due to start operations in 2022, utilising the LCC business model and employing the Airbus A320 aircraft. As well as this, Fly Gangwon also plans to launch by 2022, using Boeing 737-800NGs. On a regional level, Hi Air, a full-service start-up carrier, is intending to begin turboprop operations in late 2019, with plans to operate with a fleet of up to ten ATR turboprops.

Asiana Airlines’ Troubles

Although the Korean market has experienced strong growth in recent years, Asiana Airlines has suffered from numerous financial issues. As a result, Kumho Asian group (majority shareholders) has put its 31% stake in Asiana Airlines and its LCC subsidiaries, Air Busan and Air Seoul, up for sale. Accordingly, IBA has downgraded the airline’s score in its latest risk index to 5B. Korean Development Bank announced a package, consisting of a hybrid bond, short-term debt and debt guarantees in late April this year for Asiana Airlines in a bid to ease liquidity concerns, although it did not go a long way in relieving the beleaguered carrier’s leverage.

Kumho Asiana Group are reportedly looking for around 1 trillion won for the airline and its LCCs. Given foreign ownership restrictions, the buyer (or consortium) will be domestic, with rumours suggesting Aekyung Holdings (majority shareholder of Jeju Air) are interested in acquiring Kumho’s stake. The Korea Corporate Governance Improvement (KCGI), the second biggest shareholder in the parent company of Korean Air, has also said it was interested in acquiring a controlling stake in Asiana Airlines.

Looking at Asiana’s fleet since its inception, the airline has grown significantly in terms of its long-haul and short-haul networks, requiring an increase in widebody capacity, as seen in the graph below.

Asiana Airlines Fleet Growth

Whilst this graph exhibits a positive growth trend, due to financial issues, the airline has changed its strategy and as such, is dropping a number of routes as well as decreasing its fleet size. Crucially, the airline currently operates six Airbus A380-800’s which has previously proved unprofitable for several other airlines. The aircraft is currently operated on trunk routes including Seoul to New York, Hong Kong and Sydney.

According to IBA.iQ, the narrowbody fleet consists of 18 Airbus A321-200s, which includes newly delivered A321NEO, seven Airbus A320-200s and two Airbus A321-100s. The widebody fleet consists of 15 Airbus A330-300s, nine Airbus A350-900s, nine Boeing 777-200ERs, seven Boeing 767-300s, six Airbus A380-800s and two Boeing 747-400s.

Asiana Airlines Fleet Outlook

 

Korean Investors in Aviation

Korean Airlines

The active role Korean conglomerates played in the domestic aviation industry is not a new story. Korean Air, the largest airline and flag carrier of South Korea, went fully privatised and was acquired in the late 1970s by the Hanjin Group, which initially focussed on shipping and is now a holding company comprising 20 subsidiaries. In 2008, the Hanjin Group established an LCC, called Jin Air, which has become the second largest and only widebody LCC operator in South Korea. Furthermore, Hanjin has also invested in its own travel agency to serve the growing number of tourists, particularly for foreign travellers.

Apart from the Hanjin Group, the Kumho Asiana Group has invested in three different carriers in South Korea, the fully owned flag carrier Asiana Airlines, LCC Air Busan, and the newly established Air Seoul, which only operates international flights.

Following Hanjin and Kumho Asiana is the Aekyung Group, which started Jeju Air in 2005. Jeju has become the largest LCC in both the domestic and international markets of South Korea. Recently, the holding company of the Aekyung Group, expressed interest in acquiring Asiana Airlines, which is currently undergoing restructuring. Independent Korean airlines only account for 8% of international markets and 19% of the domestic market.

Domestic & International Market Share - Airlines Owned by Korean Conglomerate

Korean OEMs

In 1999, at the behest of the South Korean government, a joint venture between Samsung Aerospace, Daewoo Heavy Industries (aerospace division), and Hyundai Space and Aircraft Company, named as Korea Aerospace Industries (KAI), was formed to develop the domestic aerospace and defence industry. Up until now, KAI has produced a number of fixed wing aircraft, jointly developed a few helicopter programmes and manufactured parts for other civil and military aviation OEMs. Furthermore, this joint consortium has drawn investments from both domestic and international financial institutes, which accounts for over a third of the ownership in KAI at the moment.

Korean Aviation Financing / Lessors

On the financing side of the aviation market, Korean investors have been seen as key players for over a decade and they continue to extend their capabilities and influence into a wider sphere of the aviation funding market.

South Korean institutional investors began with funding in mezzanine debt tranches backed by aircraft assets. Some have moved into equity investment, and now regularly provide dollar-denominated senior debt, which indicates that some of the more recent transactions are being closed with entirely domestic groups of arrangers, investors and lenders.

The first Korean-born aircraft leasing company, Crianza Aviation, was formed by Korean-based venture capital firm IMM Investment and Cerritos Holdings in 2016. Crianza has grown quickly since its inception and secured three Boeing 787-9 medium-widebody aircraft delivered new to Etihad Airways from November 2018 to February 2019.

The Dublin-headquartered Stellwagen Group opened an Asia branch office in Seoul. In December 2018, Stellwagen Korea, together with Meritz Securities Co. Ltd, completed its first transaction which involved the acquisition of one Boeing 777-300ER aircraft on lease to Qatar Airways. The asset management unit of the Stellwagen Group acted as servicer for this aircraft.

Before teaming up with Stellwagen, in late 2016, Meritz Securities had its first transaction of 20 aircraft purchased from GE Capital Aviation Services via joint aviation fund with Mizuho Securities Co. Ltd. Subsequently, an offshore Special-Purpose Entity (SPE), Labrador Aviation Finance, was set up and backed by these 20 aircraft. Two years later, in December 2018, Meritz together with Mizuho Securities formed their second portfolio aircraft investment, purchasing 18 used aircraft from Dubai Aerospace Enterprise (DAE) Capital.

Likewise, there are a number of Korean brokerage and investment companies actively being involved in aviation funding activities. KTB Investment & Securities Co. Ltd has a 30-year track record in specialised investment and asset management and brought institutional investors into their first aircraft deal via its fund structures. Samsung Securities Co. Ltd. and Mirae Asset Daewoo have been consistently seeking to include top-tier airlines in their aviation fund portfolios. Not to mention, KEB Hana Bank, who signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) to take a majority stake in Arena Aviation Capital. KEB and Arena helped to finance the acquisition of a Boeing 777‑300ER aircraft on lease to Air Canada.

Korean private aircraft funds raised a total of 1.3 trillion won ($1.1 billion) in 2017, more than quadrupling the 293 billion won raised in 2012, according to KG Zeroin, a fund rating firm. At the same time, numerous government institutional investors have been playing a key role in the aviation funding market. In 2017, South Korea’s National Pension Service (NPS) made its first investment in a blind-pool aircraft fund by committing US$100 million to a US$1 billion fund of BBAM, according to Korea investors. Alongside Korea Investment Corporation (KIC), the sovereign wealth fund of South Korea, invested heavily in the aviation fund raised by Castlelake. Several other Korean saving funds, i.e. the Public Official Benefit Association (POBA), the Korean Teachers Credit Union and the Military Mutual Aid Association (MMAA) have entered the aviation fund investment in recent years, driven by the stable returns and investment diversification.

Private aviation funds feature an increasing number of investors, both foreign and domestic, with American and European aviation funds seeking investments from South Korea. However, some early Korean investors have become cautious about declining returns from the increasingly crowded market.

Importance of Aviation to South Korea

Air Transport plays a crucial role in the South Korean economy. The number of passengers travelling by air in South Korea has exceeded 30 million in the first quarter of 2019, according to the latest data from IATA. This is the first time ever that quarterly passenger numbers have reached this figure, which is backed by the growing Korean LCC presence in both domestic and international markets. The period between 2015 and 2018 has seen average annual passenger growth of 43% amongst Korean LCCs, notably Jeju Air, Jin Air and Eastar Jet.

Undoubtedly, this ever growing number of travellers brought by the carriers has strengthened South Korea’s economy. The flight between Jeju International Airport and Seoul Gimpo Airport is regarded as the world busiest domestic route, with 200 flights per day and nearly 80,000 annual flights. This high-demand route has helped Jeju Air, the oldest LCC in South Korea, to develop into the largest LCC in the market. With 44 aircraft in its fleet, Jeju Air carried 12 million passengers in 2018, which represents a 15% domestic market share. Even though the domestic passenger numbers have been relatively flat since 2016, its international service launched in 2009 has since experienced double-digit annual increase, including 27% growth in the first quarter of 2019, and has reached 9% international market share in South Korea, according to IATA published data. As such, as part of its recent Operator Score Index update, released in July 2019, IBA has ascribed Jeju Air a rating of 4C.

Following Jeju Air, five other LCCs have been formed and in aggregate LCCs occupy over 60% of Korean domestic traffic. Additionally, all Korean LCCs operate international routes in their networks, although the two full-service carriers, Korean Air and Asiana Airlines, have the majority international market share with a combined total of 40%. Moreover, the new market entrants are also likely to focus their potential revenue on international flights, due to the already crowded domestic market. Half of international tourists were from China and Japan in 2018, and China recently approved the launch of 49 new weekly flights by South Korean carriers. Most Korean carriers will benefit from this move, with the exception of Jin Air, which is currently under sanctions imposed by the Korea Aviation Authority.

South Korean Domestic & International Market Share Breakdown By Carrier

Employment and Spending

The increasing number of visitors into South Korea has more than doubled in the last decade, however the outbound market (local people flying out of South Korea) is nearly twice the size of the inbound market over the same period. This dynamic market has brought in huge numbers of newly created jobs, typically within the airline companies, airport operators, airport on-site enterprises, aircraft manufacturers and air travel services. Additionally, local hotels, restaurants, shopping malls and tourism resorts support another wave of jobs. Moreover, huge amounts of foreign passenger inflow will give rise to trading and Foreign Direct Investment, which tends to increase the logistic capacity, life infrastructure development and boost financial activities. In total, more than 830,000 jobs are supported directly and indirectly by the air transport sector based on research conducted by Oxford Economics.

The money spent by foreign tourists and business people brought in by air transport, the salary earned and values created by the people employed in the Air Transport sector and its associated supply chain, will all contribute to the country’s Gross Domestic Product (GDP). Those consumptions are estimated to support around 3.4% of Korea’s GDP, totalling up to US$ 47.6 billion.

Since domestic routes in South Korea have been saturated for a couple of years, a number of secondary airports are under construction, supported by local government. The planned airports will support the development of Korean LLCs and continue to attract new entrants. Subsequently, infrastructure will bring more jobs and boost the local economy, as well as heightening competition within the increasingly crowded aviation market.

Conclusion

The ever-growing air traffic in South Korea, especially on international flights, has nurtured the growth of local LCCs. However, declining profits and increasing competition has stirred the local market, which expects more consolidation to occur in the near future. This currently vibrant market continues to lure more entrants into an already crowded space.

Monitoring the health of airline financials and understanding their operational characteristics are essential elements of successful aviation investment. With its Operator Score Index, IBA has developed an excellent and easy-to-use tool to help support investors’ internal airline evaluations and to gain a valuable and informed third-party perspective from aviation experts with over 30 years in the business.

China has the most LCCs in North Asia, however South Korea has the highest LCC penetration rate among this market. In the foreseeable future, more planned routes can be expected from China into South Korea due to the growing number of outbound Chinese travellers, and potentially some routes will be created in North Korea to ease the crowded domestic market. The current US – China trade war has affected cargo demand and the Korea-Japan diplomatic row sheds a cloud on the travel revenue between these two countries.

An increasing number of South Korean investors have switched from traditional real-estate investments to more profitable and stable mobile assets such as aircraft. As a result, more diversified aircraft funds and financing deals have been made available in the Korean market. Meanwhile, Korean investors have transformed themselves from purely cash providers in the aircraft leasing transaction to leasing deal arrangers and servicers. At the same time, there have been more joint developments established between local companies and foreign leasing entities.

Going forward, IBA expects Korean entities to represent an increasing proportion of the global aviation finance market. IBA would not rule out the possibility of a standalone Korean leasing platform in the near future. Despite investment in domestic airport infrastructure, Korean LCCs must explore international expansion to secure sustained growth. In such a competitive market, from both an airline operator and investment perspective, understanding the risks to growth is key.

Co-authored by Jie Zhou, Lewis Leslie & Caroline Finnegan – Aviation Analysts, IBA.

If you have further questions, comments or feedback please contact: Mike.Yeomans@iba.aero


Keep up to date with our latest news, insight and market analysis

I would like to receive marketing comms regarding IBA’s services, insight and events

IBA.iQ

I would like to receive marketing comms regarding IBA’s services, insight and events